Proart - PHD Program of the Department of The Arts
print

Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation


Content

The ProArt Concept

The Department of the Arts (Kunstwissenschaften) with its five subject areas Art history, Art education, Musicology, Music education and Theatre studies is one of the largest institutions of its kind in Germany. Around 4.000 students, including just under 200 doctoral students majoring and minoring in the subjects of the Department of the Arts, are currently making use of the large variety of arts teaching and research on offer. The 16 professors from the five different disciplines represent a broad and diverse spectrum of theoretical standpoints and methodical approaches.

The guiding idea of the program is the insight that the arts are increasingly marked by a dissolution of boundaries and by mutual enrichment. These, to some extent controversial, developments do not only affect artistic practice, they also shape the academic investigation of art, music, theatre and film. The PhD program with its interdisciplinary orientation offers the doctoral students a diverse, research-oriented and systematically structured range of courses. The aim is to establish the Arts as key discipline(s) for the investigation of aesthetic, (inter)cultural and (inter)medial practices. In addition, it is necessary to lay the foundations for a new discipline: comparative art.

This public advertisement of the PhD program is aimed at postgraduates from the LMU and elsewhere who are particularly qualified and specifically trained for their topic. If possible, a third of these postgraduates should come from abroad. Their supervision combines the advantages of individual supervision with those of team supervision. Each applicant who is admitted to the program is assigned a personal mentor from the group of participating professors who is responsible for the supervision of the dissertation and who acts as a personal advisor to the doctoral student. Furthermore, in principle all the professors involved in the PhD program are available for the specialist supervision of the doctoral student.

 

Responsible for content: ProArt

Promotionsprogramm ProArt
print

Sprachumschaltung

Navigationspfad


Inhaltsbereich

Die ProArt-Idee

Das Department Kunstwissenschaften mit seinen Fächern Kunstgeschichte, Kunstpädagogik, Musikwissenschaft, Musikpädagogik und Theaterwissenschaft gehört zu den größten Einrichtungen dieser Art in Deutschland. Rund 4000 Studierende, darunter knapp 200 Doktoranden im Haupt- und Nebenfach nutzen momentan eine große Vielfalt an kunstwissenschaftlichen Lehr- und Forschungsangeboten. Die 16 Hochschullehrer aus den fünf verschiedenen Disziplinen vertreten ein breites und vielfältiges Spektrum theoretischer Positionen und methodischer Ansätze.

Leitgedanke des Programms ist die Einsicht, dass die Künste zunehmend im Zeichen einer Entgrenzung und wechselseitigen Befruchtung stehen. Diese teilweise kontrovers diskutierten Entwicklungen betreffen nicht nur die künstlerische Praxis, sie prägen auch die wissenschaftliche Erforschung von Kunst, Musik, Theater und Film. Das interdisziplinär ausgerichtete Promotionsprogramm bietet den Doktoranden ein vielfältiges, forschungsorientiertes und systematisch strukturiertes Lehrangebot. Ziel ist es, die Kunstwissenschaften als Schlüsseldisziplin(en) zur Erforschung ästhetischer, (inter)kultureller und (inter)medialer Praktiken zu etablieren. Zudem gilt es, die Grundlagen einer neuen Disziplin zu legen: die der Kunst-Komparatistik.

Die offene Ausschreibung des Promotionsprogramms richtet sich über die LMU hinaus an besonders befähigte und für ihr Thema spezifisch vorgebildete Graduierte, von denen möglichst ein Drittel aus dem Ausland kommen soll. Ihre Betreuung kombiniert die Vorteile der Individual- mit denjenigen einer Teambetreuung. Jedem aufgenommenen Bewerber wird ein persönlicher Mentor aus dem Kreis der beteiligten Hochschullehrer zugeordnet, der für die Betreuung der Dissertation zuständig ist und dem Doktoranden als individueller Studienberater zur Seite steht. Darüber hinaus stehen für die fachliche Betreuung prinzipiell alle am Promotionsprogramm beteiligten Hochschullehrer zur Verfügung.